Skip to content

News Release

Maryland Chamber of Commerce Announces Board of Directors for 2023-2024; Welcomes New Chair Misty Allen

May 12, 2023

Annapolis, Md. — On May 11, 2023, the Maryland Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors voted in the slate of business leaders who will join the organization’s governing body for the 2023-2024 year.

In addition, the board elected Misty Allen, vice president of government and community affairs at Comcast NBC Universal, to serve as the organization’s new board chair. Allen succeeds Gracelyn McDermott, vice president of marketing, sales and business development at Kaiser Permanente of the Mid-Atlantic States, who served as chair since 2021. Amir Ahmadzadeh, vice president of Mid-Atlantic operations at EXP was elected vice chair, and Damita Robinson, executive vice president and chief operating officer at Andrews Federal Credit Union was elected treasurer.

The 2023-2024 Maryland Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors includes (* indicates a newly elected board member, ** indicates an executive committee member):

  • **Amir Ahmadzadeh, vice president, Mid-Atlantic operations, EXP
  • **Misty Allen, vice president, government and community affairs, Comcast
  • **Christopher Barber, chief nerd, Cheaper Than A Geek
  • Thomas Cormier, government affairs manager, Giant Food LLC
  • *Natalie Cotton, government affairs and community relations director, Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative
  • Travis Cutler, director, state and local government affairs, Marriott International
  • James E. Edwards, Jr., office managing shareholder, Baker Donelson
  • Steven Edwards, founder, Edwards Performance Solutions
  • Chris Frech, senior vice president, global government affairs, Emergent BioSolutions
  • Ryan Eller, executive vice president & general manager, Live! Casino & Hotel Maryland
  • *Drew Getty, vice president, environmental sustainability & government relations, Perdue Farms Inc.
  • Christopher Griffith, president and chief operating officer, KCI Technologies Inc
  • **Robert Grohowski, vice president, legislative and regulatory affairs, T. Rowe Price
  • Jeff Hargrave, president and CEO, Mahogany, Inc
  • James Hayes, senior vice president global government affairs, Tenable
  • Robert Head, vice president, state, local and PAC affairs, Lockheed Martin
  • Francis X. Kelly, III, chief executive officer, Kelly Benefits
  • **Chris Hoyson, executive vice president, Whiting-Turner Contracting Company
  • *Stephen Kensinger, senior vice president, community banking, WesBanco
  • Michael Kiely, president global government affairs, United Parcel Service
  • *Brandon Lee, creative lead, Snap Happy Photo Booth
  • Mindy Lehman, chief government relations and policy officer, TEDCO
  • Anne Lindner, vice president, governmental and external affairs, Pepco Holdings
  • Ramon Looby, president, Maryland Bankers Association
  • J. Maloney, senior manager, public policy, Amazon
  • *Elena Marcuss, office managing partner, McGuireWoods LLP
  • **Gracelyn McDermott, vice president, marketing, sales & business development, Kaiser Permanente
  • Linda Moss, president, Maryland operations, FirstEnergy
  • **Paul Nolan, vice president, tax & government affairs, McCormick & Company, Inc
  • **Joseph Ochipinti, CEO, UnitedHealthcare Mid-Atlantic Region
  • **Fiona Ong, partner, Shawe Rosenthal LLP
  • Mary Penczek, vice president, commercial mid/large group sales, CareFirst BCBS
  • Efraín Pérez Agosto, vice president and chief financial officer, MGM National Harbor
  • *Kimberly Prescott, president, Prescott HR
  • **Damita Robinson, executive vice president and chief operating officer, Andrews Federal Credit Union
  • Blaine Shipler, vice president, commercial banking relationship manager, PNC Bank
  • Mara Sierocinski, vice president/relationship manager, Sandy Spring Bank
  • *Walter L.G. Simmons, president and CEO, Employ Prince George’s, Inc.
  • Andrew Singer, vice president, east – retail C&I sales, Constellation an Exelon Company
  • Romaine Smallwood-Faison, general manager, Mondawmin Mall, Brookfield Properties
  • *Greg Smith, executive vice president, business banking market manager – Greater Baltimore Chesapeake market, M&T Bank
  • *Jay Steinmetz, founder and CEO, Barcoding, Inc.
  • Jack Terry, vice president, deputy operations manager cyber and SIGINT solutions, Leidos, Inc
  • **Maria Harris Tildon, vice president, state and local affairs, Johns Hopkins University and Johns Hopkins Medicine
  • James Wagner, assistant vice president, rates and regulatory affairs, Washington Gas
  • Roger J. Ward, provost, executive vice president, and dean, Graduate School, University of Maryland Baltimore
  • Charles Washington, vice president of governmental and external affairs, BGE
  • Dana Williams, senior vice president, managing regional director, Truist Wealth
  • John Williams, vice chairman, Jamison Door
  • *Regina Woods, vice president, government affairs for the District of Columbia, MedStar Health
  • Ex-Officio Member: **Mary Kane, president and CEO, Maryland Chamber of Commerce
  • Ex-Officio Member: William Chambers, president and CEO, Salisbury Area Chamber of Commerce

“As the Maryland Chamber of Commerce continues to focus on promoting economic development and addressing critical policy issues for business, we are thrilled to welcome our newest slate of board members,” said Mary Kane, President & CEO of the Maryland Chamber of Commerce. “With a wide range of expertise across different industries, their unique perspectives and experiences will be invaluable as we work towards implementing our new strategic plan and continuing to build partnerships that will help all businesses and our communities thrive. I want to thank Gracelyn McDermott, our former Chair, for her leadership and vision and I am confident that under the leadership of our new Board Chair, Misty Allen, we will continue to be the voice for businesses across the state of Maryland.”

“I am honored to serve as the new Board Chair for the Maryland Chamber of Commerce and to work alongside such a talented group of individuals,” said Maryland Chamber of Commerce Chair Misty Allen, vice president, government and community affairs, Comcast. “As we begin to implement the Chamber’s new strategic plan, I am committed to ensuring that we remain focused on the needs of Maryland’s business community. With the support of our executive committee, including Immediate Past Chair Gracelyn McDermott, and fellow board members, I look forward to continuing to advocate for policies that will make Maryland more competitive and prosperous for all.”


About the Maryland Chamber of Commerce 

The Maryland Chamber of Commerce is the only statewide business advocacy organization and the leading voice for business in the state. Together with their 6,800+ members, they form a statewide coalition that is committed to ensuring that Maryland is attracting and retaining quality jobs, developing vibrant, sustainable communities and staying at the forefront of global competitiveness and economic prosperity.